Viewing: archive News Article

The Bridget Cassé Award 2017

Posted: Monday 11 September, 2017

On Sunday 10th September 2017, Next Stage Theatre Company celebrated the talent and enthusiasm of its Next Stage Youth members when Ann Ellison, Artistic Director of the Company, and Alan Cassé presented The Bridget Cassé Award for Excellence in Youth Theatre 2017. The trophy is presented annually to the Youth member who has shown the greatest talent, team work, dedication, helpfulness and positive attitude over the previous twelve months. This is the eighth year the prestigious trophy has been awarded.

This year’s winners of The Bridget Cassé Award 2017 are:

Winner - Georges Boutin
Runner up - Eleanor Harris
Highly Commended - Lachlan Gibson

Other nominees:

Freya Bark,
Hugo Worrall,
Georgia Langley,
Kat Petmezas,
Hamish Rowe
Lily Stiles

Artistic Director Ann Ellison said:
“Every one of our young and talented nominees would make a worthy winner, but it was felt that this year’s trophy should go to Georges. As well as being an excellent actor and a great team member in any theatrical performance, Georges stepped in to play Young Pip in Great Expectations in February 2017 with only 3 rehearsals in which to learn the words and moves before opening night. Georges, worked so hard to find the character in such a short time and then delivered an extremely convincing portrayal of Pip. Well done Georges!
I should also like to congratulate Runner Up Eleanor Harris and Highly Commended Lachlan Gibson for their work with the youth company in the last year.
It is always a privilege to work with such talented youngsters and I am grateful that this Trophy - a fitting legacy of a lovely Next Stage actress - allows us to celebrate all their efforts. My heartiest congratulations to all”.

Georges Boutin and Lachlan Gibson can be seen next at The Mission Theatre in Next Stage and Next Stage Youth’s production of Goodnight Mister Tom. Eleanor Harris will be in Next Stage Youth’s double-bill of His Dark Materials Parts 1&2 in February 2018.

2017 Nominees and Winners with Alan Cassé and Artistic Director Ann Ellison

(From Left to Right) Highly Commended - Lachlan Gibson, Artistic Director - Ann Ellison, Winner - Georges Boutin, Alan Cassé and Runner Up - Eleanor Harris

Winner Georges Boutin with Alan Cassé

Back to archive news.